Hunkering Down

The Hunkering Down at home has continued but at least I have a bit more of Impulse to show for it. I’m waiting for Kim’s yarn to arrive before I finish the bottom garter stitch rows and bind off. I have 2 balls of yarn left, so I’ll make one sleeve with it. I’ll use the 2 skeins from Kim for the other sleeve. Kim mentioned the 2+ balls of yarn she’s sending are of the same dye lot (Woo Hoo!), so that means my sleeves will match which is always a good thing. I’ll scrimp to find enough yarn for the bottom border.

I’m really loving how these cables look, almost sculptural and 3D. Of course, they might look differently after their bath and blocking. I’ll have to decide whether or not I want to iron them down a bit or not, but for now, I love looking at them.

Impulse is the best name for this sweater and experience, because I impulsively bid on a 10 ball pack of this yarn on eBay and won. Ahem, I must add that I had forgotten about it until I received the surprising “You’ve Won!” email from eBay. Oh well, at least I’ll know what type of sweater 10 balls of DB Cashmerino Chunky will get me. Now, I have a bag of 10 winging its way to me from England. Anybody interested?
Lastly, I had to add this because this really made my day.
I’m not clever enough to figure out how to make it so you can click on the picture and have it link to The Panopticon’s post today. More like I’m too lazy to figure it out. Whatever… just click.
4 responses to “Hunkering Down

  1. Cable-y goodness! It does look neat like that.

  2. Hope you’re feeling better! Wow, you’re almost done with Impulse. Great photo of the undulating cables. I’m glad you found the same dye lot for your second sleeve. Yay, knitters!

    P.S. Thanks for forwarding the Panopticon post to me. Dolores for President!

  3. I saw the badge on Franklin’s blog today and will be adding it to mine as well. I still have trouble making it hotlink, but oh well. It’s the thought that counts, and Dolores would certainly lead the party!
    Love the way your sweater is coming out! Those pudgy sculptured cables are just too wonderful!

  4. the sweater looks great! The cables look like tux ruffles, very nice.

Leave a Reply

