Babies Here, There and Everywhere!

It seems like it’s raining babies and I’m knitting up baby gifts galore for friends. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a little bit. There are three babies right now that I’ve knit for or will knit for in the next week or so.

First up, this is a set for Sweetie Boy’s soccer coach and wife. It’s still drying but you get the idea.


It’s the free Easy Baby Cardigan pattern from Knitting Pure and Simple and a simple baby hat with a little umbilical i-cord on top.

Project: Easy Baby Cardigan from Knitting Pure and Simple
Yarn: Valley Yarns Southwick (bamboo) in Iguana, 4 skeins
Needles: Denise and Knit Picks Options in US size 6
Start: January 26, 2008
Finish: February 11, 2008

Thoughts: I realized afterwards why I was so close with the yardage. I read the pattern wrong and knit until 7 or 8 inches from the underarms instead of from the shoulders. Doh! So this baby will have shorter sleeves (ahem, 3/4 sleeves are in right now) and a longer coat. Good thing it’s for a girl. I did a blanket stitch around the edges with some stash lavender cotton yarn and then knit up the matching cap to tie it all together. Fun and easy, I love this pattern, especially with the hood.

Project: Sweet and Simple Baby Hat from The Knit Foundry
Yarn: Classic Elite Provence in lavender, less than half a skein
Needles: Knit Picks Classic Circulars in US size 7
Start: February 12, 2008
Finish: February 12, 2008

Thoughts: This little project zoomed by. The cotton was a little stiff from the skein, but after washing it, it’s sufficiently soft for a baby’s noggin. Super easy hat, I especially love the umbilical i-cord at the top. I will definitely make this again.

This is the current knit du jour, another Easy Baby Cardigan sans hood. I only have 2 skeins of the Blue Sky Alpaca Organic Cotton, and even though the pattern calls for 387 yards of dk or light worsted, I decided to give it a whirl. I left off the hood, and am knitting it on size 8s, instead of the size 7s as called for. Between casting on fewer stitches and my loose gauge, I should be okay with the yardage. I’m almost at the end of the first ball and I’ve already separated off the sleeves. This yarn is so soft; I keep stopping after every few rows to stroke the collar. I’ve got to keep cranking away at this, though, because I’m helping to throw the baby shower for the Mom this Sunday. If I have time, I’ll try to make a little hat to go along with it, maybe a cute little acorn hat, since the recipient is a boy.

Happy Valentine’s Day to you and yours! Have a great rest of the week.

8 responses to “Babies Here, There and Everywhere!

  1. Very cute projects- I love the green and lavender combo! You’ll have some very happy parents to be!

  2. All those baby knits are so cutie-patootey!

  3. There are some lucky babies out there! Very cute!

  4. Did you say acorn hat? I love me an acorn hat. Knit or crocheted? It’ll look very cute with the BSA sweater.

    Can’t go wrong with lavender and green! Your ensemble turned out so sweet and springlike.

    Yay for babies!

  5. i love knitting baby stuff. It goes so fast. Isn’t it all about instant gratification?

    They look great!

  6. Yay for fun, cute and quick baby knits!

  7. Oh how I love baby knits, and these are too cute!

  8. Aww…baby knits! I love that hat!

Leave a Reply

