Thursday WIP Report

Things are kind of crazy around here. My brain and I want to either knit or surf Ravelry all the time, but other stuff keeps getting in the way. Things like volunteer work at school. Ugh! I won’t bore you with the details. Instead, I’ll show you my WIPs.


This is the Cavern Cardigan by Laura Chau/Cosmicpluto Knits. I’ve split off the sleeves and done the increases in the front. Now I’m going to add a few decreases on the side for some waist shaping (Thank you again, Patty, for your knitting advice! You are my knitting guru.) I’m using STR Pond Scum in heavyweight on size 7 needles. It makes a nice lightweight fabric that’ll be perfect for spring. It’s a very odd color for me. Acid green is what Madge calls it. It’s definitely not as grassy green in this picture. I bought some from Blue Moon and the color wasn’t as deep a green as I had hoped. So what was I to do? Buy up Madge’s and Marie’s and make a sweater with it. Don’t ask me why. I was inspired. I think I’m gonna like this though.


My Lenore group knitalong socks are crawling along. Once I got to the two pattern repeat, it was snoozeville for me. I was excited by the heel shaping, and now I’m doing the gusset decreases. I just have to keep pushing along on these puppies. Although you can’t see the color variegation very well in this picture, this STR Lenore yarn has the most beautiful color subtleties. I think I’m going to be really excited about wearing these socks when they’re done.


These last pictures are the February installment of Scout’s Swag Sock Club. I only purchased one month for this past year, and it’s easily one of the best sock club shipments I’ve ever received. The yarn is her superwash merino sock yarn in Raspberry Sorbet, and the swag was a Romi shawl stick pin and scarf pattern. I have been eyeing Romi’s pins for a while, waiting for just the Sea Green Aventurine to come into stock, so I was extremely excited to receive this one with the little pink heart on top. Little pink hearts are not necessarily my favorite, but this is so perfect with the yarn. I can definitely live with it.

Unfortunately, Scout just closed sign ups for her sock club. She has to run a lottery for it since it’s quite in demand. If you’re looking for a sock club, keep your eyes on this one, folks. If you’re looking for a new sock club, check out Melanie LotusYarns’ Punk Rock Sock Club. Her colors will be based on punk album covers of the ’70s, ’80s and ’90s. Her yarns are beautifully dyed, and as a relatively newer yarn dyer, she still has the strong call of her muse. I think sign ups begin this Friday.

What’s the latest obsession? Bianca’s Jacket from Interweave Knits Fall ’06. I dismissed this one at first, but seeing larisa’s inspired me. After obsessing over the different yarn choices in Ravelry, I decided to try my Elsebeth Lavold Silky Tweed in stash first. I’ll have to swatch first and see if I get gauge and like the fabric. Fingers crossed! What’s your newest obsession?

Have a great week!

9 responses to “Thursday WIP Report

  1. I like that green – and I was wondering what a garment made from the Heavyweight might be like 🙂 Thanks for taking care of that! Hee hee.

  2. I’ve just added the Bianca jacket to my queue as well. I saw someone wearing a very pretty one at stitches west last month.

  3. I’m so glad you liked the club installment!!! 😀

  4. Very nice WIPs. Can’t wait to see the finished project.

  5. Lovin’ all your WIPs. And your Scout’s Swag.

    But you knew that already, didn’t you? 🙂

  6. Hahahaha…pond scum! Love that name. The Bianca jacket is gorgeous…should look great on you!

  7. If you don’t like the green sweater when you’re done with it I’ll take it. 😉

    Love IT!

  8. Ooooh, nice swag! I’m lovin’ the pond scum. I started my Lenores, but I’m still on the cuff. I’ve come down with project ADD recently and I just cast on one of the tulip sweaters…

  9. The Cavern Cardigan is going to look amazing in that color! Can’t wait to see it all knit up!

Leave a Reply

