Quick Medicine

After finishing up Lenore, I needed some quick knitting to soothe my injured ankle, so I decided to whip up a couple of Hot Waffles hats as gifts to my kungfu brothers who helped shlep my stuff and me back to LA.


Hat #1


Hat #2

Project: Hot Waffles Hat 1 & 2 by Anne Hanson
Yarn: Rio de la Plata 3 Ply Thread in Rabbit for Hat #1 (mostly used leftover scraps from Sweetie Boy’s sweater and a little bit of a new skein); Jaeger Matchmaker Merino Aran in Black for Hat #2 (less than 2 skeins)
Needles: Knitpicks 16″ classic circulars in US size 7 for Hat #1; Addi Turbo 16″ circulars in US size 6 for Hat #2
Start and Finish: Hat #1 – April 5 to April 6; Hat #2 – April 6 (done in 1 day)

Thoughts: This is a great pattern that is super easy to remember and looks great. Perfect masculine hat. I have to pick up some Rowan Calmer to make a couple more in cotton. These receive a high recommendation and a must-knit rating, if I were to rate the patterns.

I never gave you the details on the Lenores, so here goes…
Project: Lenore by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock Lightweight in Lenore colorway, 1 skein
Needles: KnitPicks 16″ classic circulars in size 2.25mm; 2 circs method
Start: Jan 2008
Finish: April 1, 2008

Thoughts: These were part of our knitting group’s knitalong, and I really love these socks. These were the first pair of socks where i actually correctly calculated the appropriate amount of negative ease so the socks would fit snugly and comfortably. The top cuff is a bit tight so there’s some fidgeting to get them on. On the second cuff, I held double the needles and that seemed to loosen a bit more but not as much as I would have liked. Now, to count down the days when I can actually get them on my feet.


This is the right sleeve for the Cavern Cardigan right before I had to frog it. That’s right. F-R-O-G IT. I figured out I was using size 8 needles, instead of size 7, and it was too loose and floppy. Rip it, rip it, rip it! I’m about halfway now I think and like the feel of it much better.

7 responses to “Quick Medicine

  1. Mmm waffles!

    Bad Cavern. Bad. Glad you’re back on track with the Pond Scum. Heh. That name just cracks me up.

  2. Darn frogging. Glad you figured it out, though, before the sleeve was completely done!

  3. What sweet gifts! How many days left in the countdown?

  4. Cute hats! Hope your ankle is healing well.

  5. What nice gifts! Very nice for your friends who helped you through NY!

  6. I love the hats!

  7. Great hats! Your Cavern is looking good – it’ sthe perfect color for spring. My Lenores have sadly taken the back seat to small gift projects.

Leave a Reply

