WIP Report

Hey, I remember you! It’s been a while since I’ve done one of those, so why wait until next Thursday?


You’re right; it’s another completed Hot Waffles. This one is for Janessa, my kick-ass kungfu sister who also helped me in NY.

Project: Hot Waffles by Anne Hanson of Knitspot
Yarn: Rowan Calmer in that purpley plum color; just under one ball. (This was the leftovers of the second ball for my Shedir hat.)
Needles: Knit Picks Classic 16″ Circulars in US size 6
Start: April 12, 2008
Finish: April 16, 2008
Thoughts: I love this yarn and hope one day that I’ll be able to make a sweater out of it. Nice cotton feel, although a bit dry, in great colors, with great stree-e-e-e-etch. Time to start trolling Ravelry for someone who’s looking to destash. What else can I say about this pattern, except You Really Need to Make This Hat. I promise you’ll love it.

This is where the Cavern Cardi is at this moment. I literally have about an inch left of stockinette on the sleeve, then an inch of seed stitch and the knitting will be completely done! It’ll be weaving in ends, making the ties, washing, blocking, and just making her presentable. It’s been a drag pulling her out at softball and soccer games, because she’s full-sized now. This weekend, I vow to complete her! Ha, if that’s not a slap in the face for the Knitting Goddess… (um, please, Knitting Goddess, I’m sorry for making that disrespectful comment just now; please don’t slap me down. I promise I’ll be reverent and good from now on.)

Since I finished my Lenore socks earlier this month, I’ve been itching to do another pair of socks and some lace. I knew I had a skein of Koigu KPPPM already caked; it was used for some lace socks I tried but abandoned. I dug it out, printed out the pattern for Los Monos Locos, aka The Crazy Monkeys. They’re toe-up versions of Cookie’s Monkey pattern with knits instead of purls. I worked on the toe today and tomorrow, I get to start the pattern on the top of the foot.

As for the lace I’ve been jonesing for, I’ve been in love with the latest slew of lace scarf patterns: Flutter, Gust, Alhambra, Pear and Trellis, and one not-so-new pattern, the unattainable peak of lace knitting IMHO, Hanami. Just got to fit them in somewhere.

We have four soccer games and one softball game to watch this weekend. Guess I’ll be doing a bit of knitting too. Have a good one.

6 responses to “WIP Report

  1. So close on Cavern! You’ll get one for sure! (Sorry knitting goddess)

  2. Hey, you cast on another pair of socks. Good for you. And I bet you’re finished with your beautiful Pond Scum Cavern (that STR name never fails to amuse) by now, too. Whee! Cast on with abandon.

    Hope you’re having fun with your crazy Monkeys while sports watching. Happy weekend!

  3. Love the Hot Waffles hat. Calmer is fast becoming one of my favs too!

    Cavern cardi looking good.

    Good luck on starting some new socks and lace projects!!

  4. Great stuff. I have some Malabrigo lace yarn in the same color as your cavern- it’s beautiful! Hope it’s just about done. All those lace patterns are beautiful. Now I have to put a bunch of her patterns in my queue…

  5. Wow, alot of good WIPs going! Cavern is looking great! The toe up Monkeys are on my list too.

  6. Just catching up on reading my favorite blogs. I’ve been MIA for a while now. You have some great WIPs going on. I can’t wait to see the Cavern Cardi FO pic!

Leave a Reply

