This Old Sweater

Remember Impulse? That was the name I gave to the Alexandra Ballerina Sweater from Fitted Knits. I cast on as an impulse while lying in bed sick. Nothing soothes a sickie like chunky yard and big needles. I finished it in the second half of February but never got around to taking the final modeled picture. I’ve worn it several times, received nice compliments, but still didn’t get around to taking the final picture. So, I decided to just snap a picture of it and be done with it.

Yarn: Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Chunky in coral, 12 1/2 balls
Needles: Knit Picks Options US size 10 and 10 1/2
Start: January 2008
Finish: February 2008
Thoughts: I enjoy wearing this sweater and enjoy the nice comments I get almost as much. The yarn pills quite a bit, which is annoying, but esay enough to live with. I think Juls gave me the best description of the cabling on the front… tux ruffles. After washing and blocking, the cables definitely flatted out a bit more, but I still love the description. Thanks Juls!
The pattern was quite confusing to follow along, unfortunately. I have made three other patterns from Stefanie Japel and really enjoy her stuff. I was surprised about the difficult to follow instructions, and at times, I ignored the written directions, and just kept following the charts and what my gut instinct told me. I definitely would not recommend this sweater to a beginner for this reason. If you’re a beginner and brave enough to tackle this one, be sure to check Ravelry, Stefanie’s site, and other sources for errata and other tips.
9 responses to “This Old Sweater

  1. I was wondering about that one! Tuxedo ruffles – ha!

    It looks great…hope to see it on you someday! Prolly next fall though, huh šŸ™‚

  2. It looks really nice- sorry about the pattern though. I’ll probably skip it! My mom just sent me some yarn that color, and I was unsure of how I would look in it, but I really like how your sweater looks, so I’m hopeful!

  3. Love it! I bet that color looks wonderful on you.

  4. Beautiful job!! When do we see you modelling it?

    BTW – how is your ankle?

  5. I love the ruffles and the color is great. Really pretty!

  6. Tres chic! Those tuxedo ruffles are “in” right now. I’ve seen them in some of the spring collections. I love the color too. šŸ™‚

  7. How very pretty!

  8. Yay for spontaneity!

    Sorry about the pillage, because Impulse does fit you to a T. Tuxedo ruffles and all.

  9. Oh, that’s so cute! I like yours much better than the one in the book. I didn’t even realize that’s what it was at first. It’s much nicer in a solid like you used.

Leave a Reply

