Thursday WIP Report

It went from raining on Monday to blazing hot today, so that’s plenty of incentive to hurry up and finish the Indigo Ripples Skirt. Here’s the picture of her with part of the lace. I have about 20 more rows of lace to do before the ruffle, and I’m thinking of making the lace shorter because a) I’m shrimpy and need the skirt to be the right length, and b) I’m almost ready to be done with this. However, I’ll try to soldier on and do a bit more. But don’t be surprised if it gets finished up without all of the prescribed lace rows.

All of my WIPs currently seem to be lace projects, which don’t make for problem-free social knitting projects. I needed a stockinette in the round project, so I finally cast on for Picovoli. I tried to make it once before, swatching with Artful Yarns Fable and Valeri di Roma Topacio. Both were just too thick of a fabric and the gauge was not right. Granted, it’s not a hard pattern to rework the stitch count but I thought the sweater fabric would be too heavy.

I picked up some Elann Esprit at their recent bag sale for this yarn and got this lovely blue called capri. It’s sport weight and stretchy which takes a little getting used to. I knit up a swatch, and reworked the numbers. No problem though, but I did get some row gauge advice from the all-knowing Patty. Here she is in her unexciting beginning stage. I can foresee this one taking a while before being done, partly because it’s 161 stitches to start on size 5s, but mostly because the yarn tends to stick to the needles, even the metal ones.

Hopefully, I will do a tiny bit of finishing on Friday and finally be able to show Baby Cardigan #4. Have a great rest of the week and stay cool!

8 responses to “Thursday WIP Report

  1. You can knit a skirt?? Can’t wait to see you model it!

  2. I love that skirt! I know what you mean, I’m on the hunt for an easy st st in the round project too.

  3. Oh, the skirt is looking good! You’re so lucky to be petite so you can knit shorter skirts 🙂 (I’m the opposite…)

  4. This wacky weather! The skirt is looking fab. Can’t wait to see it! Once you get past the armholes, that Pico will fly.

  5. You’re flying on your skirt – yay for soon-to-be wearable UFOs.

    And you cast on. Ah, the circle of knitting.

  6. That skirt is going to be so cute on you!!

  7. Your skirt is looking good! I can’t wait to see it finished. I luv that capri color. It’s supposed to get cold again next week. Carziness.

  8. Can’t wait to see the finished skirt. looking great so far.
    You can’t beat wacky weather in london – we’ve summer and winter in the month of May!

Leave a Reply

