Debut

This weekend, Sweetie Girl had her first official soccer game on her new club team. To mark this debut (and because it was raining on Friday), I quick-knitted her a hat to match her uniform. It was a tournament, which meant at least three games over the weekend, rain or shine. Of course, stash yarn was used which prompted the immediate cast on.

Project: Sweetie Girl’s Soccer Beanie
Yarn: Knit Picks Swish (worsted weight) in Red Pepper, less than 1 skein, and Jaeger Matchmaker Merino Aran in black, leftovers for the trim.
Needles: Knit Picks 16″ Classic Circulars in US size 7
Start: May 23rd
Finish: May 23rd

Thoughts: No pattern. Just cast on 81 stitches, and k2tog the first stitch to make join tight.

1 1/4 inches of 2×2 ribbing with the red stripe in the middle, then switched to stockinette until the entire hat was 5 inches. Did the decreases over the crown over 8 sections. It was a hit! So much so that I’m toying with the idea of knitting hats for the rest of the gals on the team. That’s 9 or 10 more hats. Hmmmm, just toying with the idea for now.

I put the Indigo Ripples skirt in the washer and dryer twice, and it fits quite nicely! I got the slubbiness back, which I had really missed, and it has a beautiful drape now. I just have to find the perfect blouse now. And the perfect shoes. And the perfect undergarments. And…

I also finished Boing! on Friday but haven’t washed it yet because I was lacking blocking wires. Yep, I found someone on Ravelry who bought some welding wires, and had extras. So I snatched up a set for 11 bucks, and I just received them today. I’m hoping to soak Boing! tonight and pin her out tomorrow. I’m really looking forward to how this one turns out.

I also gave in this weekend and cast on for a new sleeveless shell. After studying Chickami and the Fitted Tank patterns, the cotton stash yarns, and my existing swatches for these yarns, I decided to cast on the Fitted Tank using the Valeria di Roma Topacio cotton blend yarn from my stash in coral. I’m knitting it in the round, instead of knitting it flat, and am happily past the 6″ of 2×2 ribbing and into the stockinette. Ahhhhh, nice and soothing over the weekend. Hopefully, I’ll be done with this soon before the warm weather is back upon us.

Hope you had a nice, long weekend.
10 responses to “Debut

  1. She looks great in her hat! She rocks!

  2. Cute hat! I can’t wait to see the Indigo skirt. Glad the dryer worked. 🙂

  3. Can’t wait to see your FOs, and your Fitted Tank! That has been near the top of my queue for a long, long time…

  4. She’s so cute in her soccer outfit and hat!

    I have the Fitted Tank in my queue too, but I’m being lazy. I’m sure I’ll be inspired by yours!

  5. Yay, I’m glad Indigo Ripples turned out after it’s bath! And look at Sweetie girl – too cute!

  6. Super cute hate…she looks so happy wearing it.

    I’m glad to hear Indigo Ripple shaped up after her baths. Can’t wait to see her, Boing and fitted tank too!

  7. Welding wires as blocking wires? Now there’s something I’m going to look into, especially since “proper” blocking wires cost an arm and a leg!

  8. Great to see that Jaeger Matchmaker in yet another hat. Hee.

    Can’t wait to see Boing. Yeah, I’m fidgeting.

  9. What a great mom- the team will love matching hats! I want to see the skirt modelled (along with the shoes, shirt etc)!

  10. Sweetie Girl looks so cute in her uniform and her beanie.

Leave a Reply

