The Summer of Lace was my knitting group’s latest knitalong. It started officially on the Summer Solstice and ended today, the Autumnal Equinox. Sounds cool, huh? I can assure you that I had nothing to do with tying it into the cool seasons. Me? I just try to knit according to the theme for the most part.

Hanami was my chosen project for the Summer of Lace, and it was a tough one. As you can see, I didn’t finish it, so for me, it’s more like the Neverending Summer of Lace. I just finished Chart A and only six more charts to go. Gulp. I. Must. Finish. Hanami. because when it’s done, it’ll be gorgeous. Here’s where she is right now. She looks tiny and will have to be aggressively blocked to be even just a decent sized scarf. I chose to keep my sanity and only complete five basketweave repeats, instead of the proscribed seven.

Even though Hanami is still a wip, I did finish another lace project, the Lacy Skirt with Bows. It was the “official” lace project, but it still had a decent amount of lace and it’s done. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get a modeled shot of her this week.

In the middle of the Hanami drama (is that Hanama?), I’m still working diligently on Ariann. I have bound off for the underarms, and am casting on for a sleeve. Let’s hope I can cruise through sleeve island in a decent amount of time.

4 responses to “

  1. It’s definitely a gorgeous shawl! I’m cheering you on to the finish line. 😀

  2. Hanami is a big challenge and will be so beautiful when finished.

    Can’t wait to see pictures of the skirt!!

  3. Hanamarama? Is that a Bananarama song?

    Happy autumn!

  4. Hanami is beautiful. It will be worth the effort when you’re done. I can’t wait to see your finished Lacy Skirt w/Bows. 🙂

Leave a Reply

