Out of Shape

Hello. So glad you’re still here checking this site for any odd word from me. I apologize for not posting for a while. Things got busy, yada yada yada. It seems even my knitting took a slight break.

I’ve been working on Ariann, while sneaking behind her back and obsessing about starting new sweaters, cowls, caps, and wristwarmers. I have to admit I’m not in love with Ariann anymore. I’m having a tough time with my shoulder decreases while maintaining the decreases in the lace simultaneously. Of course, I could have done an internet and ravelry search to find out what other people have done. But, in the end, I was just too lazy.

You know how when you think you’re going to run out of yarn so you knit faster? This was the exact opposite. I wasn’t sure what the h-e-double-hockey-sticks I was doing; I didn’t like how the decreases were looking next to each other; I didn’t like being in confused, chaotic state, so my knitting slowed to a crawl. Then, I justified working on some quick knit cowls as birthday gifts for my Sweetie Niece who is in upstate NY freezing her patootie off. Let’s just say the lack of knitting has taken a toll on me.

On Saturday, I knitted more hours than I have for quite a while… through my Mom’s doctor appointment, Sweetie Girl’s soccer game and a quiet afternoon. I finished the last of the cowls using some stash Lamb’s Pride Bulky on size 11s. Wow, did they hurt my hands. After that was bound off, I cast on and later finished a soccer beanie on size 7s for Sweetie Girl’s teammates. (Did I mention that I was crazy enough to think of knitting matching soccer beanies for all eight girls, plus one for the coach? Two down, seven to go.)

That night before dinner, I noticed my forearms and hands were really tired, and figured it was the knitting. So I popped a couple of tylenol. After dinner, I felt like a complete wimp/loser because my arms and hands were throbbing. Two advils, an ice pack and a few hours later, and the pain finally subsided. Yowza, I haven’t felt pain like that in a while. I guess I have a new goal. Get back into knitting shape! Now, if only I can conquer Ariann, I’ll be on my way.

Before I go, here’s the last little bit I wanted to show you. Melanie of Lotus Yarns sent out our first shipment of the Big Ass Yarn Club (I love the name and it’s so perfect for me!). It’s two skeins of Nirvana Worsted in the colorway bliss. Nice and soft and in fall muted tones. I’m thinking of the Herringbone Neck Warmer. Ahhhh, bliss… just what I need.

I’m making an effort to get back on the blogging badwagon. I’ll post those fos in the next few days.
5 responses to “Out of Shape

  1. oooh i like that neckwarmer! great idea!

  2. Good luck with Ariann! It’s going to look great!

  3. You know, I’m pretty sure I screwed up on the Ariann section you’re on, and I still love my sweater and wear it all the time. I can’t even *find* the mistakes I’m sure are there. Don’t sweat it.

  4. Maybe Ariann just needs a little time out to set herself straight.

    The hats are adorable!! You’ll have to take pics of the whole team wearing them and show us….too CUTE!!

  5. I need to join you on that blogging bandwagon. Ariann is going to look great, yo can win that battle. Knitting beanies for the whole soccer team – impressive! I want to see the team model them when they’re done. Cute idea!

Leave a Reply

