She’s a-dryin’ out

Ariann is done and she’s a-dryin’ out. No, no problem with alcohol. At least I don’t think so. I did the very focused and almost manic weave-in-the-ends-and-sew-up-the-seams finishing this morning, so I could quickly toss her in the bath. Before her bath, I tried her on quickly for fit and measured her. The bust grew eight inches just from the dunk! That’s a good thing because it was too tight. Now I hope she won’t be too big. I don’t remember the swatch doing that but I swatched over 14 months ago so I don’t remember. Naturally, I didn’t take any notes on pre and post blocking gauge measurements. Fingers crossed she’ll be dry and fit in time for Thanksgiving.

She’s all stretched out here on the blocking board. Taking these pictures from way up high is always kind of interesting. I can get a better feel for proportion and I wonder if the collar is too long. The pattern calls for four inches, but on the rav boards, there’s a few who have made them longer, anywhere up to eight inches total. Probably too long and floppy for my shrimpyness, so I went with five inches. We shall see. If it’s too long, I’ll have to convince myself it’s worth the effort to rip back to four.

Finally, I can turn to some holiday gift knitting! If only I knew what to make. Maybe a dumpling bag or two or three?

10 responses to “She’s a-dryin’ out

  1. 8 inches?? Oh dear. As long as it fits, though, fab! It should be done by thanksgiving, and I love the color.

  2. Yippee! Snoopy dancing ensues…now.

    *Snoopy dancing*

    Fingers crossed when you try her on again she’s a perfect fit.

    Holiday knitting? What’s holiday knitting?

  3. Yayyyy! Got through those darn raglan decreases!

  4. Arian looks good. I hope it fits.

    Good choice on the Dumpling Bags for gift knitting. They are quick knits.

  5. Yeah!!! You showed Ariann who’s boss. Looks great. I think you chose wisely with the collar….8 inch sounds like way too much.

    Good luck with the holiday knitting……dumpling bags sound perfect.

  6. The sizing will be fine – mine was the same way – too small before her “bath”, then way large after, then it shrinks back to somewhere inbetween the two after it’s dry. You’re good.

    I kinda want to make another one, I wear mine so much.

    One word of caution before you weave in the end on the collar – I did the same thing and shortened the collar – however, it doesn’t always lay flat because it’s not as long. I don’t remember how much I shortened mine, but I remember thinking it was going to be way too big and adjusting it. Just make sure it’ll lay the way you want it to after it’s dry, before you weave in the ends.

    Happy Turkey Day!

  7. Really, really pretty! I love the color! It looks great on you 🙂

  8. Yay! I hope you like how she fits! She looks great from here. Congrats on yet another project well done. 🙂

  9. Yay! I hope all went well!

  10. Darcys Knotty Knitter

    Excitted for you the sweater is gorgeous love the color:)Hugs Darcy

Leave a Reply

