Twice in One Week!

New year, new blog post. Whoop de doo! Okay, I’m trying to post more often and this fl00zy knitalong with my knitting group is a hoot. I guess blogging isn’t so painful when you have something to say and show.
When last we were together, we left off at day #3. I’m happy to report that I have continued my reckless casting on of projects to celebrate the new year.
Day 4 – Star Crossed Slouchy Beret by Natalie Larson in Misti Alpaca Chunky
Today’s project was brought to you by the letters “R” and “L”. “R” stands for responsible, as in me for casting on a gift for someone. “L” stands for late Christmas gift. Unh.

Unfortunately, I ran out of yarn to finish it up. Argh! Does anybody have any leftovers of Misti Alpaca Chunky in Cream I can buy from them? If all else fails, I can buy another skein, but you know how painful that is, when you only need a few yards or so.

Day 5 – February Lady Sweater by Pamela Wynne in Dream in Color Classy, Happy Forest. I’m totally diggin’ the green. And the fact that my size in this pattern is extra small. I am SO not an extra small but it’s amusing anyway.

Day 6 – Started with the Scribble Lace Shawl from the Mason Dixon Knitting book but it was a bust. With fingering weight yarn and some super bulky, size 19 needles were too small and the size 35 needles are straights, not circulars as needed. It has already been frogged and tucked away in their sleepy spots.

Toasty by Leslie Friend in Debbie Bliss Pure Cashmere was the second attempt. I wanted to be sure to use up every last bit of this yarn, and edge it with some leftover soft pink from my sister’s Fetchings last year, so I used a provisional cast on. I also put both mitts on a’la magic loop, and it was a hot mess. On top of that, it’s just too big, so I’ve gotta frog and go down a needle size. In a very non fl00zy fashion, I’m going to work on just one mitt at a time. Sanity, I’ve come to realize, is important.

Do you like how the yarn balls and needle make a sad face?
Tomorrow is the last day of the reckless casting on. I’m sure it comes as no surprise that I’m enjoying this immensely. I might continue this lifestyle for a bit more. Stay tuned for day 7’s project. Any guesses? I don’t know what it’s going to be, so your guess is as good as mine!
8 responses to “Twice in One Week!

  1. Hi. I love you casting on with abandon, I may have to do that too. Winter is too depressing otherwise.

  2. I’ve been acting the floozy and didn’t even know it. I like casting on and getting started. The rest of it gets old pretty quick. Happy New Year! It’s good to hear you’re still knitting.

  3. Great cast-ons! I’m diggin’ the Happy Forrest. Hooray for floozies!!!

  4. Great cast-ons! I’m diggin’ the Happy Forrest. Hooray for floozies!!!

  5. Sanity IS important. Hope round two of the Toastys works better. I love the idea of edging them with a hint of pink; just one row would be perfect. Sarah Dallas does this a lot on her patterns, and the effect, it is cool.

    Happy sevening!

  6. You floozy you!

  7. Woo hoo! I love all this casting on. Reminds me of home, heh heh. I think we should form a Floozies of the San Gabriel Valley club. Happy New Year! I love the yarn you picked for your FLS.

  8. What great cast ons!! I really dug this KAL.

Leave a Reply

