Return from Wilderness

The Brownies and I returned from the Wilderness, alive and unscathed, and Ingenue survived it too! I finished her up Thursday night at about midnight, and steam blocked her on Friday. Wow, was that fun! Watching the stitches relax and straighten out was like magic before my very eyes. The ends curled quite drastically but the steam blocking worked wonders. It was ready to be folded up and smooshed into the weekend duffle bag. I had the inspiring idea to get my co-leader and co-knitter, Pam, to take the FO picture of it while camping. Too bad we never got around to it. This is the only shot I got of it from group picture, and I cropped it. I’ll try to get a better, “official” FO picture of it but this will do for now.


Please excuse my crazed look. This was after two full days with twelve 8-year-old girls. We were almost done and ready to head home. I think you understand now.

My project du jour during our camping weekend was a plain toe-up sock. I worked on socks throughout the year in 2007, and in 2008, I made only one or two pair. It was time to try to learn a toe up sock without being a slave to numbers. I really wanted a recipe, similar to the Yarn Harlot’s basic sock recipe. I found the Lifestyle Toe Up Socks – No Swatch Needed by Charisa Martin Cairn on ravelry and this was the time to try it. It features a no wrap short row heel. It intrigued me so I gave it a shot with some stash yarn, STR Heavyweight in Nodding Violet. It’s a little wide on me, but these will be for my sister as a late Christmas gift, and I think they’ll fit her fine. I have to cast on for the second one tonight to get started.

With the fun steam blocking of Ingenue on Friday, I pulled out some other FOs that were ready to go and blocked them. What fun! I have a scunci steamer, purchased on sale at Target with a 10% off coupon, and this baby has earned its keep and then some.

Sweetie Niece’s late Christmas gift, the Republic Hat, got a steam shot and relaxed beautifully. I just have to wrap it up and send it off to Ithaca, NY where it’ll get some use in those freezing temps.

Project: Banana Republic Hat Knockoff by metaphysical_muse
Yarn: Misti Alpaca Chunky in Lavender, 1 skein
Needles: Knit Picks Options, US sizes 8 and 10
Start: December 31
Finish: December 31

Thoughts: I love the vintage-y style of this hat and will be perfect in the cold NY temps. I bought this yarn at my very first yarn crawl with my knitting group at a now defunct store. I’ve never had the right project for it, until now. I’m glad the alpaca will be well-used.
Mods: I made it longer so it would cover the ears more. That’s it. If you haven’t made one of
these, you definitely should. Super cute, super style!

Project: Child’s Rainbow Scarf by Joelle Hoverson
Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Bulky in Roasted Coffee, 1 1/2 skeins, and Noro Kochoran Natural, 1 skein
Needles: Knit Picks Options, US size 10
Start: January 11
Finish: January 21

Thoughts: The mistake rib was fun at first, especially the color changes, until it got too bulky to work with. Then I let it sit for a bit while I played around with other projects. Followed the pattern but chose yarn to man it up a bit, as it’s for my brother-in-law. This is a surprise replacement the teeny tiny Irish Hiking Scarf I made him years ago. No mods, other than knitting it really long and then steam blocking it so it grew longer. He’s tall, so the goal was to make it long enough so he could wear it Parisian like. I hope I get a picture of him in it one day, but don’t hold your breath!

6 responses to “Return from Wilderness

  1. You’ve been a finishing machine! Now I’m going to check out that hat pattern–I need to make a couple of baby caps for the wee boykins and it would be nice to have them done before it rains on Thursday!

  2. Yay Ingenue! You’ve been very productive in January. You whipped that sock out in no time! Great FOs!

  3. Wow, you gotlots done. Love Ingenue

  4. Love all the FOs.

    Actually, I think you look amazingly pulled together for having been camping 2 days with 8 year olds, must be the hand knit sweater you’re sporting!

  5. Ingenue looks fantastic! So do your other projects!

  6. 2 days with all of those hormones? You are a saint! Love the FO! A machine I tell you!

Leave a Reply

