It’s a Beautiful Day

I started to title this post “Rain, Glorious Rain” only to realize that it should be followed up with “Sun, Glorious Sun.” That made me think about how beautiful it is right now in Southern California. Sunny, cool crisp temps that make for perfect sweater weather. I just can’t complain about it. It is a Beautiful Day, and I hope yours is too.
Since I owe you the FO picture for Ingenue, here it is. First, let me say how much I love wearing this sweater because it is soft and warm, but how much I hate how chunky I look in it. I really don’t want nice comments from you nice readers about awww, it’s not really. It’s okay; I accept it. I still love wearing it. Okay, here here it is.

Project: Ingenue by Wendy Bernard from Custom Knits
Yarn: Needful Yarns London Tweed in green, 9 skeins
Needles: Susan Bates Silverado circular needles, US size 8s
Start: January 1
Finish: January 29

Thoughts: The first of the fl00zy cast on with my knitting group, this is the second of the batch that I’ve finished. Mind you, finishing projects it not a requirement of the fl00zy cast on, but I liked this sweater so much that I decided to. The pattern was extremely easy to follow, and the fit is perfect. I didn’t try this sweater on at all during the increases and decreases, even though I attempted to with a very long cable needle (don’t ask). I blindly knit along with the confidence that it would all work out in the end, and I’m so happy to say that it did.

After the sweater was finished, I toyed with the idea of keeping the cowl long, instead of pinning it down, but after playing with it a bit, decided the open cowl neck really makes the sweater. Its vintage look is what appealed to me from the beginning. The ends of the body and sleeves curled something crazy, but a nice steam blocking relaxed the fibers beautifully. It was a thrill to watch the fabric relax with the steam and lay nicely. I made no mods and highly recommend this pattern. However, you could save a ton of time by knitting the stockinette portions and picking up and crocheting the ridge pattern at the neck and sleeves. This sweater is definitely a thumbs up.
Since it’s February and everybody’s doing it, I’ve picked up my February Lady Sweater. The DIC Classy has a nice worsted feel to it and is just rustic enough to give you a good feel for the yarn.
Here’s my lastest mindless knit, cast on in a reckless fashion too, One Skein – A Stole! (English Version) by Katja Jordan. I’m using some Noro Kureyon Silk Garden Sock yarn I picked up at a sale just for this project. I really love the olive greens with the black, and although I’m not a typical blue wearer, I think the colors will be really versatile yet uniquely me. Uh, what does uniquely me mean exactly? I dunno, but it sounded so good in that sentence, even though rather pretentious.
The second picture is bluer than it really is. I think the blues are more teal than denimy.
I finished my sister’s socks and shipped them off. I’ll wait for her to receive them before I put up the picture of them and do the final write up. I also did a tiny secret project that will be revealed at a later time. That’s all for now. Have a great week!
8 responses to “It’s a Beautiful Day

  1. Beautiful stuff, as usual!. Your house is roomy, but aren’t you running out of storage room for all these sweaters??

  2. Ingenue looks great!!! I’m starting to have trouble keeping up with your floozy ways. 😉

  3. Floozy, ingenue, you have it goin’ on! Congrats on FFO #2.

    Great to see all the yummy green in this post.

  4. Ingenue looks great on you! Not chunky! 🙂

  5. Ingenue looks great on you, and the new shawl/scarf has great colors. Two finished floozy projects is very impressive!

  6. That’s a fantastic sweater!!!

  7. Ingenue looks awesome!

    And, you know what I think of the DIC green you’re using for your FLS….Fantastic, and gotta get me some.

    Enjoy the nice sweater wearing weather!!

  8. This is a test.

Leave a Reply

