Further Adventures of a Cro-Tard

My knitting group decided last week on our summer knitalong project. Last year, it was the Summer of Lace. Brings back images of sunsets at the beach, surfboards, dogtown, doesn’t it? This year, it’s the Summer of Crochet. See the sweat starting to trickle down my face and onto my neck yet? Do you see the tic starting on my eyelid?

My name is Mary and I’m a Cro-Tard. Or you could call me a CrouTon. Whichever you prefer. I’ve tried crocheting before and I swear; it almost ended my friendship with Madgik. Pushed her to the edge.  I figgered I better get practicing before I alienate all of my knitter/crocheter friends.

First, I had to get Ravelry time-sucked into the crochet patterns. Find a few that seem easy enough. Check. I decided on this Granny Squares Scarf by Lion Brand. If you know me well, that in itself is a hoot because I am not the biggest fan of Lion Brand. Or even the teeniest fan of the LB. But I liked this pattern, so moving on. Dug out the Plymouth Encore to practice on. Again, another hoot because I am one big ole’ yarn snob who turns her nose at ack!rylic. Dug out the set of Boye crochet hooks and began. I did a sample of the three motifs. And all in all, not too shabby. I made a mistake in the first square, but I figured it out, so I won’t do it again in the “real” square. I seamed them up in an ugly fashion, and Sweetie Girl promptly decided she wanted them for a mini-lovey. Sure!  Here’s the proof that I can actually do a granny square or three.

 

img_8921

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_89203

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_89191

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_89171

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Feeling emboldened and wanting to double check that I was double-crocheting correctly, I dug out my Stitch ‘N Bitch: Happy H00ker book and decided to try my hand at the Boy Beanie. I used my leftover Patons Classic Wool and finished it in a day. My gauge is a bit loose. The hat ended up being about 21″ in circumference, when it should have been 20″. Not only am I a loose knitter, I’m also a loose crocheter. 

img_8915

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_8916

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Project:  Boy Beanie by Laura Killoran

Yarn: Patons Classic Wool, less than half a skein of the green and a teeny bit of the grey

Hook: Boye Size I

Start: April 9th

Finish: April 10th

Thoughts:  I enjoyed making this because it was just easy enough to give me a bit of confidence. Plus, I love me some hats. Yessiree. I brought it with me when I took the kids to the beach for the day to visit friends. It was perfect social crocheting. After posting it on rav, I found that the designer has an improved version 2.0 which minimize the gaps at the “seam.” Sweetie girl wanted this one, but I told her I would make her one with some stashed cotton fleece in bright green with purple stripes. I’m going down 2 hook sizes, so hopefully this will not come out baby sized. Sweetie Girl wants a hole at the back for her pony tail, but I don’t know how to put one in… yet. Not sure if I’m brave enough to tackle that just yet. 

 

I’m still plugging away at the Whisper Cardigan. It’s going as quickly (or slowly, depending on how you look at it) as a lace-weight cardigan is expected.

 

Wishing you all a wonderful Easter!

6 responses to “Further Adventures of a Cro-Tard

  1. CrouTon…hahahaha. You’re not! You’re already crankin’ out the hits, and it’s still two months until our KAL starts. Good job!

    Happy Easter to you and the Sweeties! Hope the Bunny is good to ya.

  2. Great Hat! I’m a loose crocheter as well. I’m totally impressed with your ability to suck up the LB and acrylic just to start crocheting- you are a credit to your craft! I’ll have to join your summer of crochet long distance. I just bought enough yarn to make the beach comber tunic from IC. Any thoughts on a big crochet project?

  3. Excellent beginning, Ms. Dim Sum!!!

    To make a hole for Sweetie’s ponytail, just skip a few stitches (you can slip stitch into the skipped stitches), then start crocheting again a few stitches later. Look in the back of the “Happy Hooker” for how to make a button hole. It’s the same process, only slightly bigger!

    Good luck!

  4. Granny square aren’t the easiest thing to make, simply because the stitches refuse to be all the same size. Your look very good for a beginner’s attempt and I commend you on your crochet endeavors. Keep up the good work!

  5. (gasp) I’m shocked that you have Encore in your stash! jk Great start on our Summer of Crochet! I have a whole lot of Koigu I need to wind up!

  6. WOW, you’re crochet is looking awesome. I’m so jealous! I SUCK at crochet. I’ve tried to do some granny squares a few times and gave up.

    Love the hat. I chuckled when you said Sweetie Girl requested a hat with a hole for her ponytail…..gotta love a girl that knows what she wants!!

Leave a Reply

