Yarn Crawl ’09

Our knitting group recently went on a mid-week yarn crawl to Twist Yarns of Intrigue in Manhattan Beach, and it was a hit! The reason for the yarn crawl, you ask? Not that we need a reason for a yarn crawl, but it was a celebratory jaunt in honor of May birthdays. Twist has been described as our mecca for luxurious yarns, and it really lived up to its reputation. A wall of mmmmmmmMalabrigo in every color made, toss in Shibui, Handmaiden, Dream in Color, and Blue Sky Alpaca, we had it made! Cathy, owner extraordinaire of this LYS, is a wonderful hostess and even opened the shop for us an hour early to accommodate us moms who had to be back before the school bell rings. If you haven’t been to this store, it’s an absolute must!

There were a few firsts for us. First yarn crawl for some. First taste of mmmmmmmMalabrigo for others (Can you believe it?). First ball-winding too. 

Happy Birthday Annette and Patty!

Mary, virgin mmmmmmMalabrigo lover and ball-winder. *snicker* I just used the words virgin, lover and ball all in the same sentence. *snicker*

Proof that Nicole is born to be a Yarn Snob.

 Ain’t nuttin’ better, is there, Marie

Linda with her trademark blue yarn. 

Patty looking so happy with her Shibui.

Everybody had a good time, especially Madge and Annette! 

A great day could have been better if we had time to sit around and knit, but that wasn’t to be. While the moms jetted back home to pick up the kids, the second car went to their second destination in search of koigu. Alas, I wasn’t in that car, but I believe someone has already posted pictures of the loot she scored.

So you think I haven’t just been buying yarn, I have actually been knitting and making forward progress on the Whisper Cardigan. I’m particularly pleased that it actually is starting to look like a sweater. I’ve picked up around the collar and knitted the 1×1 rib. Now I’m doing straight stockinette down the back and have only a few more inches to go before bind off. Can’t wait!

5 responses to “Yarn Crawl ’09

  1. I’m sooo jealous that you went to Twist! I’ve never been there!!!
    Whisper is looking good!

  2. It was such a fun day! I’m second guessing my color choice for my Clapotis. I really liked both colors, but I’m going to keep what I bought and I can always get the Teal Feather for another project. An excuse to buy more (like I need an excuse!).

    Your Whisper looks great!

  3. It was a great time, wasn’t it? (And I totally suck at keeping up with blogs, don’t I?)

    Hey, Whisper looks like a sweater now. Cool.

  4. The sweater looks fantastic, as does the crew on the yarn crawl! Looks like you had a great time!

  5. Egads! Malabrigo, DIC, Handmaiden, and Shibui all under the same roof!!!! I must visit this enchanted place! Looks like you guys had a blast.

    Whisper is looking great!

Leave a Reply

