A Whisper of a Cardigan

Whisper is done, done, done and done. And blocked and being worn, as I type this second. I guess I was a bit excited about this little cardi. See, here I am wearing it right now.

Photo 26

Sweetie Girl snapped some pics of it for me this morning on the soccer field. These might give you a better idea of what it actually looks like.

  

Project: Whisper Cardigan by Hannah Fettig

Yarn: Malabrigo Lace in Blue Surf, 2 skeins

Needles: Knitpicks Options and Classic Circulars in US sizes 2, 3, 4 and 5

Start: March 30, 2009

Finish: May 14, 2009

Thoughts: I love the lightweight-ness (if that’s a word) of this cardi. Whisper is the perfect name for it because it’s so airy. Believe it or not, it was actually too warm to wear on the soccer field this morning. Probably in the ’80s out there on the pitch, so it may only work for early mornings and cool evenings during the summer days. I started with the size 5s and after the sleeves-not-the-same-length snafu, switched to size 4s because my gauge had obviously grown so. The 1×1 rib wasn’t so bad, neither was the picking up the 200+ gazillion stitches. The worst part? When I handwashed it in cold and the sleeves felted a teensy bit. Gah! I didn’t agitate it greatly. I didn’t swish it around. I squeeze out the water after several rinses.  I rolled it up in a towel and pressed down on the towel. I did what I usually do for any knitted item. So sad, but at least it’s wearable. The felting has made it not quite as soft but it’s still soft enough. I love mmmmmMalabrigo with a passion, but this has cooled my love for it just a teensy bit.  Definitely a great knit, and I’m planning later this summer to Hannah Fettig’s Featherweight Cardigan with a linen/rayon blend from Elann. But please be super gentle when washing that Mal Lace!

9 responses to “A Whisper of a Cardigan

  1. Looks great on you! I love the colour. Great job.

  2. Very cute! Sorry about the felting- what a pain! After all that work, my love might be cooled as well. I can’t believe you didn’t find picking up 200+ stitches to be horrible- I would have ended up with half the stitches on 1/4 of the space- I need your skills!

    I understand the too hot thing, I’ll given up on wool for the next 6 months (at least wearing it).

  3. Looks great!! Love the color. Sorry about the felting…..I guess that’s a hazard of the wonderful malabrigo single ply. (still best yarn ever!!)

  4. That’s too bad that it felted. I wonder if it was from squeezing the water out? I really want to make a lightweight pullover with the mal lace now that I’ve seen your Whisper cardi. It would take forever though!

  5. Looks fantastic! Nice knit. It’s definitely in my queue!

  6. Awesome job, hon. And sorry about the felting. Boo. At least it wasn’t ruined. (wouldn’t that have been a tragedy?!)

  7. Very cute! I’m all about the lightweight knits these days!

  8. I like it – it’s a nice color for you. I find it hard to wear most handknits in the summer time – they’re almost all too hot. I never tried the Mal Lace but man, would that freak me out! You can’t tell though, at least in the pics.

  9. Felted in cold water?? How unfortunate… but it looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

