My Knits Look Better on Other People

We are relaxing this memorial day weekend with a soccer tourney for Sweetie Girl. She joined a new team, and I need to get some pics of her in her new uniform. Did you know in England they call their uniforms kits? So, we need a picture of her in her new kit. I’ll try to do that tomorrow.

I finished up the Anthropologie-Inspired Capelet made with Blue Sky Organic Cotton. Love that stuff. It’s blocked already, so next time I wear it, I’ll try to capture a picture. I was between projects, so I picked up the Simply Lovely Lace socks and completed a couple of inches of the leg. I should just buckle down and finish it already, but since we were going to be on the pitch (that’s British for soccer field) for most of the day I knew I needed mindless knitting. Enter lightweight stockinette cardigan called Featherweight Cardigan by Hannah Fettig. It will be another one of those slow-going sweaters for me. Lace to fingering weight on size 4 needles, and that’s if my gauge doesn’t grow, which it most likely will. I’m using Elann’s Lino Chic which is a limited edition yarn. I’m not sure what that means. No, I do know what the meaning of limited edition is, but not sure why this is limited edition. It’s a linen/rayon blend which means it feels like you’re knitting with a combination of string and twine. But it’s in a nice dark brown, very lightweight, and perfect for our So Cal weather. If I can finish it. That’s a big If.

Anyway, last year Silvia and I did another of our cross-country knitalongs. This one was the Lacy Skirt with Bows. See Silvia’s really cute skirt? I finished mine a while ago, washed it, blocked it, and learned the hard way that if you ignore your gauge swatch, your skirt won’t fit. I’d try it on every so often with different super uber ultra control undergarments with always the same results. It was too small. Enter Nicole who although she is a relatively new knitter, totally gets it with her projects and yarn choices. So I gave my skirt to Nicole who as a knitter can appreciate the love that went into making that skirt and she looks rockin’ in it. See?

Lacy Skirt without bows

Nice rear shot, if you know what I mean.

That Nicole is a class act! One of the many things I love about her.

Seeing Nicole look so great in that skirt made my day! I enjoy seeing other people wear my handknits and I’ve come to realize that my knits look better on other people, or more specifically, my knits look better on other knitters. So darn satisfying!

Project: Lacy Skirt with Bows by Kat Coyle from “Greetings from the Knit Cafe”

Yarn: Ella Rae Shibu in Pink (color 05), 8.5 skeins

Needles: KnitPicks Options, US size 5

Start: August 2, 2008

Finish: September 10, 2008

Thoughts: I love this skirt, but even more so that it looks good on someone, even though it’s not me.  I made the size medium, even though my gauge was off. Don’t remember my gauge numbers or why it turned out small, even when I’m the loose knitter.  The yarn was beautiful to work with, and I omitted the ribbon through the eyelet row to tie the bows at each side. I like it less fussy that way. I know I’ll tackle another skirt some day because I really like the two that I’ve made. If you haven’t tried knitting a skirt yet, I really recommend it!

 

3 responses to “My Knits Look Better on Other People

  1. I thought you looked pretty fabulous is your skirt! But, if you are happy to give it away, then you have a lucky friend! My younger (thinner) sister tends to be the one who looks fantastic in all of my projects. Sometimes it takes someone else wearing it to appreciate my own work!

    Let me know how you like that yarn, and if it grows! Anything good for socal wear is probably good here in FL!

  2. Darn that gauge! It always causes problems. Your skirt came out beautiful. Nicole is luck-ee! Can’t wait to see the Anthropologie Inspired Capelet. 🙂

  3. Va va voom Nicole. The skirt looks great on her. You’re such a generous friend and knitter.

    *mwah*

Leave a Reply

