Scarf It Up!

So sorry for the cheesy title, but I couldn’t resist. 🙂

Our knitting group went on another crawl, albeit a mini, more local one. This time, we visited Abuelita’s in South Pasadena and some of us made it to the cupcake bakery down the block but not me 😦 . Abuelita’s is a great neighborhood shop and since my LYS recently closed down, I’ve been in search of a new one. This one might just be the ticket. Friendly service plus a good selection of yarns. Sorry, there are no shopping action pictures, but it was a great spot to sit and knit too. We also stopped at Buster’s next door for some refreshment.  That’s a funky, uber cool-in-a-good-way coffee joint, and I brought some recent and not-so-recent FOs for a photo shoot in the shop. But first, here’s a picture of my repast, just because I like the colors of this picture (and I also liked the food and drink very much).

That's a berry scone and a tea latte. Mmmmmm....

That's a berry scone and a tea latte. Mmmmmm....

 

Lately, I’ve been bingeing on Malabrigo. What’s not to love and why wouldn’t you want to gorge yourself on this sumptuous yarn? Amazingly soft, vibrant colors, generous yardage and reasonably priced.

No, I don't usually wear handknit shrugs with scarves.

And no, I'm NOT pregnant, even though it looks like it in this top. Must. Rethink. Blouse.

Project: Belinda by Kay Gardiner and Ann Shayne from the second Mason Dixon book

Yarn: Malabrigo Silky Merino in Lettuce (the Best Malabrigo color Ever IMHO), about 1 1/2 skeins

Needles: Knit Picks Options, US size 11

Start: April 22nd

Finish: May 14th

Thoughts: I originally saw the Malabrigo Silky Merino knitted up in a lace sample but the shop didn’t have the book with the lace pattern. Quite by accident, I came across the Belinda scarf on the Mason Dixon blog, where one of them knit a half-Belinda for the other. My eyes popped out as I realize that was the lace pattern I’d been searching for! Mary lent me the book and I was off to the races. The original Belinda shawl is two layers of the pattern with one turned 90 degrees and placed on top. It’s supposed to look like knitted 3D plaid or something like that. I reworked the numbers, and made mine with 5 “window panes” across. I like my simple 2D version better.

 

This picture shows the cherry blossoms and ruffles better than the other but the lighting bugs me in this one.

I like this picture of the stole better because of the lighting.

Project: Hanami Stole by Melanie Gibbons

Yarn: Knit Picks Alpaca Cloud, 2 skeins

Needles: Knit Picks Classic Circulars, US size 2s

Start: June 22, 2008

Finish: October 6, 2008

Thoughts: About three years ago, I had written somewhere, perhaps in someone’s comments, that the project i feared most was Hanami. I obsessed over it for a long time.  The sheerness, the beauty of the lace patterns, the smooth transitions, the wonderful story behind the stole. It had me at “Hello.”  Last summer, as the second transcontinental mini kal with Silvia and Madge, and part of our knitting group’s Summer of Lace kal, we took a big breath and tackled Hanami. I was the last to finish it up, but who’s keeping track anyway? It’s amazingly soft and warm. I was going crazy with the basketweave pattern and couldn’t wait to be done, so I shortened it to five repeats, I think, instead of the recommended seven. Now I wish i had done all seven because I like my scarves longer. Even so, it’s the knitting project that I am most proud of.

 

Project: One Skein – A Stole! (English Version) by Katja Jordan

Yarn: Noro Silk Garden Sock Yarn, can’t remember the color number but it’s the olive green and black one, 1 skein

Needles: Knit Picks Options, US size 9

Start: February 10th

Finish: February 15th

Thoughts: I fell in love with this sock yarn when I saw the olive green against the black. Imagine my disappointment, when I got  a teeny bit of green at one end, a batch in the middle of the scarf where it falls at the back of my neck, and a touch at the other end. I was mesmerized by the long color repeats, but mostly watching for more olive green to show up. I didn’t expect the teal blue or the grey, nor was I necessary excited to see their presence. After blocking it and stretching it out, it has softened a good amount, and I have worn it quite a lot, but more as a scarf. It’s not quite long enough to do the parisian wrap thing but it keeps me warm in a pinch. 

5 responses to “Scarf It Up!

  1. Pretty scarves! Love Hanami, of course, but I’ve never seen the other two. I need to try the one skein, even if the color repeats are unreliable!

    Have fun today, hope you return unscathed!

  2. WOW! I love seeing all of these finished projects! Nice work.

    Mary Jo and I were at Abuelita’s on Mother’s Day. It is a lovely shop. We also imbibed at Buster’s! Great little ‘hood.

  3. Scarf it up indeed! WOW you’ve been busy. Everything looks fantastic. I especially like Hanami and know how challenging a pattern that is….congrats on your wonderful job.

    Oh, and I agree, lettuce malabrigo is the BEST!

  4. I love them all! I’ll take one of each please. 😉

  5. Great FO parade! Wow, you haven’t blogged about Hanami before?! Where does the time go?

    We totally need to do Abuelita’s and Buster’s again.

Leave a Reply

