Buttercup

 

CA78.13772259-1-x

This is Buttercup, the newest member of our family.  We adopted her from a rescue, and everybody is pretty darn happy. She’s a 6 month old terripoo, and the kids have been jumping around for a week until we could bring her home. She’s here now and will probably be the center of the household forevermore. I might have to knit her  a sweater, if she gets cold. And no, I won’t be saving her hair or fur to spin into yarn to make into my own sweater. shudder

To actually prove that this is indeed a knitting blog, here is proof of said activity. A recent FO and my two current projects.

Project: Anthropologie-Inspired Capelet by Julia Allen

Yarn: Blue Sky Alpaca Dyed Cotton in Shrimp, 2 skeins 

Needles: Knit Picks Options in US size 9

Start: May 15, 2009

Finish: May 20, 2009

Thoughts: This was my recover-from-knitting-a-sweater-on-lace-weight-yarn-with-small-needles project. It was a ton of fun zipping through it and being done in under a week. Since my gauge was smaller than the bulky weight yarn used in the pattern, I copied the cast on number and number of stitches between markers from another raveler. Sorry, don’t remember whom. If I were to do it again with this yarn, i’d cast on more stitches because I think the sweater is a little small. You’ve actually seen this before in my recent post with the scarves. I just gotta spread out those FO pics, right? It looks too small IMHO but it’s a very practical wardrobe piece, so I will be Cleopatra-Queen of Denial and wear it in the summer over the spaghetti straps. 


IMG_9315  IMG_9320

These are the Serpentine Socks from Wendy Johnson’s Socks from the Toe Up. It’s a great pattern with an easy to memorize repeat. That’s Melanie Lotus Yarns‘ Chakra in the Hydroponic colorway. Love (1,000) because the yarn is super soft and squishy. Guess what?! It has cashmere in it. Now you have an idea of how soft this yarn is. She doesn’t have any listed in her shop right now but it will be sold at Sock Summit. Very exciting stuff.

 

  

This is the Featherweight Cardigan by Hannah Fettig in Elann’s Lino Chic limited edition yarn. It’s going slowly but it’s my mindless project that gets a little bit done here and there. Crispy, definitely crispy, since it’s linen and rayon. I’m sure it’ll soften up and drape nicely and I hope the softening up is on the extreme side. Crispy and sweater don’t go so well together in my book.

Have a great rest of your weekend!

Edited to fix the Buttercup pic.

7 responses to “Buttercup

  1. Hi Buttercup! You are adorable. 🙂

    My feet need some of that Chakra . It’s divine.

  2. Buttercup is gorgeous! Enjoy the new addition to the family.

  3. That is one CUTE dog I tell ya!

  4. that is the cutest puppy ever. Have a lot of fun with her

  5. I can see why the kids were so excited…Welcome Buttercup!

  6. Very cute dog. I’m not showing Chris or the boys.

Leave a Reply

