Don’t have a heart attack

I’m baaaaaaaack! Please don’t have a heart attack.  I’ve been crafting a lot lately, knitting of course and a resurgence of sewing. I’ll try not to write too much text and blab on and on, but I wanted to memorialize, or scrapbook if you will, the stuff I’ve been knitting and sewing.

Here’s the most recent.

Image

It’s a skirt which I just finished this morning. It’s a wearable muslin, if you will.  A wearable muslin is a test sew of a pattern to see what adjustments need to be made to fit better. This is actually the second muslin and it’s much better than the first. And no, I won’t post a picture of the first. Fabric – cute. Fit – not.  The skirt is Simplicity 2226, a learn to sew pattern. I think it’s my first yoke front skirt. Slight gathers in the front and back with a zipper closure in the back.  I was influenced by Zaaberry’s. I have some grey polka dot fabric lined up for the next iteration, maybe with some yellow rick rack on the pockets?

The sweater is Miette. It’s part of The Loopy Ewe’s 3rd annual Camp Loopy knitalong. This is Project #2 of the kal, and I finished it in less than a month.  All of the challenges are held in a one month period.  The yarn is Madelinetosh Tosh DK, one of my all-time favorite yarns, in Molly Ringwald colorway.  I used almost all of 3 skeins.

Let’s hope I can keep the knitting, sewing and blogging mojo going!

 

 

9 responses to “Don’t have a heart attack

  1. Yay! You’re back! I’ve been meaning to get back to my blog too. Soon, I hope. I love the skirt and sweater! Very pretty and summery. 🙂

  2. Candy Northrop

    Hi Mary! Love your skirt and the sweater too! I love to sew too, but knitting is still on the uphill side of the learning curve for me! 🙂

  3. Very cute!!! Wish I was can knit something wearable beyond a scarf 🙂

  4. Glad to see you back! Very cute sweater. I’ve thought about sewing, but I’m not willing to put in the effort! Nice job.

  5. Makiko van Haaster

    You are so talented! Cute sweater! The pattern looks very difficult!

  6. Look at all your super craftyness. Love it! Great ensemble, Mary, and I hope your mojo keeps up through round 3.

  7. I loved this sweater on you at the conference! Such a good colour for you. It was really great to meet you and I hope to see you in Austin next year:)

  8. Cute sweater–glad to see it finished! The skirt is adorbs, too!

  9. Oooh, love your Miette!

Leave a Reply

