Hello again

Hello again. Sorry I went away for a while. I find I think about blogging but dislike taking the selfies. Well, I went ahead and did it this time. I signed up for Me Made May which will force me to take selfies, or force my family and friends to take pics of me. I’m cruel that way. If you don’t know about Me Made May, check it out here. It’s hosted by Zoe and it’s a wear-along. Last year, the idea scared the bejeezus out of me, but afterwards, I started imagining the pieces I could wear. So I took the plunge this year. I pledged to wear a handmade garment of clothing everyday in May. It’ll be a combination of sewn and hand knit garments for me. Here you go with the 4 days so far.

Day 1 featured my Staple Dress knock-off. When I started really sewing again, I really wanted the Staple Dress but was too scared to buy pdf patterns and cut and tape. Also, I was too cheap to buy it because it looked like a very forgiving pattern.  I got some great advice at a local shop on how I could McGyver my own, and did. The original pattern is McCalls 6551 and the fabric is quilting cotton by Juliana Horner which I got at JoAnn’s. I love the vintage look of this. The neckline was too wide, so I pinched it together in the front, tacked it and sewed a couple of buttons on it. Not the best fix but it works and I love this dress.

photo_1

Day 2 – I wore my Lady Skater dress made with an oatmeal heather floral cotton jersey from Girl Charlee. Serious love for this dress. Super comfy and makes me feel pulled together. I love florals and prints but am always afraid the patterns I choose are too young for me. Not this one! This fabric had just the right balance of print, weight, color and hand. I would seriously wear this one everyday if I thought people wouldn’t comment. Excuse the bad garage photo. I had to snap this photo on my way out.

photo_2

Day 3 – This is my Laurel dress by Colette Patterns made with a cotton which I purchased on my first visit to Sew L.A.  Just 2 yards is all it took. The Laurel pattern is one of my all-time favorites because it’s comfy, easy to make adjustments, and looks great with sleeves or without. When I originally made this dress, I thought I hemmed it too short, but in hindsight, I think it’s fine. Any longer, and the frump factor would go waaaaaay up.

Image

Day 4 – I was on the soccer field for most of the day, and with our 90 degree temps in So Cal, I knew I had to be cool and comfy. I wore my Scout Tee by Grainline Studios made with another oatmeal heather floral jersey from Girl Charlee. This fabric was interesting to me because it’s a cotton linen blend, so I knew I had to check out the fabric. I’m glad I did because it has lived up to expectations. This tee was actually made with leftover fabric. It’s the second piece I had made with the fabric, the first being a Mission Maxi. That Maxi might show up later this month, so more on that later. I love the fit of this shirt, and I will definitely be making more of these.

Image

That’s my recap of Me Made May so far. I mostly post on Instagram but will try to recap here every so often.  I have a lot of projects in the queue, both sewing and knitting, but all making-related. Have a great week and happy making to you!

4 responses to “Hello again

  1. So glad you’re doing MMM. You’ll have a blast. Loving the outfits so far. The Laurel dress is super cute in that print.

  2. So true that we have been having such hot weather that it’s already time to pull out all of the summer clothes!

Leave a Reply

