Me-Made-May Recap Days 5 – 11

Well, it’s official. Me-Made-May has achieved the impossible. It has made me blog twice in a month. Wowee kazowee. I know; you’re practically celebrating in your seats as you read this. Here’s the recap of last week, which was also the first full week of mmm.

Day 5
Simplicity 1716 dress made from cotton jersey knit fabric. It’s one of the first fabrics I ever purchased from GirlCharlee.com. Super lightweight and comfy. I came across this pattern when Pattern Review featured their top 10 patterns for 2013, and loved seeing all of the versions. I’ve made two more of these dresses, and gifted them to my sister and niece. It’s an easy sew, except the shoulder/neck join is kind of funky for me.
20140513-191827.jpg

Day 6
This was a double post day. It was a little chilly so I wore my Kira cardigan, pattern by Cecily Glowik-MacDonald and yarn from Miss Babs – Yowza Whatta Skein in Oregon Mist. The red buttons are vintage which I picked up from the vintage button booth at Stitches West 2012.
Squid’s BFFL, Madishi, was celebrating her birthday, and we gifted her the dress. It’s made with vintage poly knit from my mom’s stash. Seriously, I think the fabric is at least 40 years old. It has taken me almost a year to just get the moth ball smell out. The dress is a Lady Skater Dress by Kitschy Coo, and it’s a fun, easy go-to pattern for me.
20140513-191840.jpg

Day 7
I wore my long-sleeved Lady Skater Dress which I sewed up with more Girl Charlee cotton jersey knit. I lined the skirt to prevent any accidental peekaboos, and it is so super comfy. I wore it the first two or three times with a raw edge on the hem, and then decided to hem it in honor of mmm. It was a bit chilly again, so I topped the dress with a handknit Alga sweater, pattern by Veera Välimäki. The yarn is Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in Dahlia. I started this pullover 3/4 sleeve sweater 3 years ago, and left it unfinished because I knit ribbing for the sleeve cuff, instead of doing the garter stitch as called for by the pattern. It took me only 2 days to finish the sweater, once I got past the sleeve cuff. And no, I didn’t rip out the sleeve cuff; I left it in ribbing.
20140513-191851.jpg

Day 8
I really wanted comfy, so I decided to put on my self-drafted maxi skirt made with a steel grey ITY knit, RTW boxy tee from The Gap, and a self-drafted infinity cowl made with Girl Charlee’s cotton jersey knit Sparrows in the Woods“. I love this cowl so much for its softness and its vintage-ness. It’s still on their website, so go there now and get some. I promise you won’t regret it!
20140513-191905.jpg

Day 9
In honor of Blue Day, it was the first of my self-drafted knit pencil skirts using MimiG’s free tutorial. This was made with a Girl Charlee skinny navy and white cotton blend jersey knit, and it has such a soft hand! It’s the first one of these skirts that I always reach for first. Topping the RTW tee is my handknit Vitamin D cardigan, pattern by Heidi Kirrmaier. The yarn is Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in Betty Draper Blues. I knit this sweater in 2011 and 3 years later, to say I love this sweater is an understatement. It still gets regular wear, and I hope it never wears out.
20140513-191929.jpg

Day 10
This skirt goes back to when I began sewing again, and I needed to build my confidence with some easy elastic waist skirts. This one is made with DS Quilts quilting cotton from JoAnn’s, paired with a RTW tank.
doing!

20140513-191940.jpg

Day 11
Happy Mother’s Day! McCall’s 6115 has been burning up the facebook sewing groups, and I had to jump on the bandwagon. I scored this floral rayon challis from JoAnn’s bargain bin and had it in stash. It was a bit low in the underarm so I shortened the neck strap a good two inches. Of course, I also had to show my two favorite partial me-mades in the whole world — my kids!

20140513-191951.jpg

Have a great week and have fun whatever you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

