Me-Made-May Recap Days 19 – 25

Are you still hanging in there with me? If so, I am a lucky gal to have you, dear Reader. Here goes days 19-25 of Me-Made-May 2014.

Day 19 – My skirt is Simplicity 2226, made with some stash quilting cotton, and topped with my as-seen-before Goodale cardi. Okay, in all fairness, I had it tossed in the corner of the picture, so I haven’t really introduced it to you. It’s the Goodale cardigan by Cecily Glowik MacDonald and the yarn is Madelinetosh Sport in Silver Fox. I love so many of Cecily’s patterns, and she is having a sale right now until May 30. Use code “sale” for 20% off. I have to fight myself not to buy yet another one. Have you figured out that most of my me-made sweaters so far have been made with Madelinetosh yarn? I loves me my Madelinetosh, and I loves me some pockets in my skirts too.

20140526-220756-79676650.jpg

Day 20 – Yet another Colette Laurel dress, this one in a great teal color. I purchased the fabric on sale on Black Friday at JoAnn’s and it’s a quilting cotton but I can’t remember the designer. I added the ruffle, or kind-of-ruffle, at the end of the 3/4 sleeves. I know I have made a lot of Laurel dresses, and I think there are a couple more that you haven’t seen. I’m not sure if they’ll make an appearance in MMM though because they are long-sleeved, and the weather is really starting to warm up.

20140526-220757-79677365.jpg

Day 21 – I am sporting my Miette cardigan, pattern by Andi Satterlund. Yarn is Madelinetosh Tosh DK in Molly Ringwald colorway. I love everything about this project… pattern, yarn, and color! Knitting it was fun and a breeze. Last year, I knit up this cardigan as part of The Loopy Ewe’s Camp Loopy summer knitalong, and I am so glad I did because I get a ton of use from it. Camp Loopy is starting up again on June 1, so check it out here. Won’t you knit along with me?

And speaking of knitalongs, I’ve also signed up for Andi Satterlund’s and Lauren from Lladybird are hosting an Outfit Along. Lauren is hosting a sew along for a cute dress pattern, and Andi is hosting the knit along for her new cardigan pattern.  I fell hard for this one too. Won’t you knit and sew along with me? Oh, and if you don’t have enough to do, I’m also joining one of my knitting besties in Kristen Kapur’s Through the Loops Mystery Shawl kal. Yeah, I’m a little busy but it’s with stuff I love, so I can’t complain.

20140526-220757-79677713.jpg

Day 22 – I’m lucky that the weather is cooperating a bit, and I’m able to wear some of my hand knits.  This is my handknit Urban sweater, pattern by Veera Välimäki, yarn by Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in Hollyhock color way. See? I told you I loved that Madelinetosh yarn. All of the colors are so darn amazing!

20140526-220758-79678269.jpg

Day 23 – For MMM’s themed Fridays, it was polka-dot day. I frankenpatterned Vogue top pattern with cotton lawn fabric from stash. I liked it at the time it was done, and it was nice and cool to wear. However, epic fail because I look preggers in this and I am NOT. The neck was too big so I just pinched together the extra fabric and popped a button on it to cover it up. Flickr readers were super sweet and assured me I didn’t look preggers, but I’m still doubtful.

20140526-220759-79679157.jpg

Day 24 – My son was going to his first Prom in a RTW tux, and I’m wearing a Mission Maxi by Jamie Christina, made with cotton jersey knit from Girl Charlee, topped by my Miette card. It’s a little embarrassing how much knit fabric I purchase from Girl Charlee

20140526-220759-79679870.jpg

Day 25 – I love 3 day weekends, especially when I don’t have to do anything. I spent the day sewing in my self-drafted tank dress, made with cotton spandex jersey knit from where else but Girl Charlee. It was hot, and the nice drape of this fabric was perfect. I cut it too short, so who knows… maybe it’ll become a nightie instead.

20140526-220800-79680288.jpg

That’s last week’s wrap up! I’m reading that many other MMMers are getting tired of taking the photos every day. I know my family scatters when I pull out my phone, because they’re tired of taking my pic. I’m horrible at selfies, so that is not an option for moi. I think Christine Haynes said it best in her Instagram, “Mostly it feels so egocentric for my feed to be so full of selfies!” Hear hear Christine! I love seeing everybody else’s pictures, and I realized that I really love wearing my handmade clothes. I just need to make some more basics, like solid colored bottoms, so I’ll try focusing on that in the future. We’re in the homestretch now. Only 3 more days of MMM and I’m going to try to enjoy each and every day that’s left.

Leave a Reply

